Desert of Man

Writing. Culture. Politics. Wandering.

It’s been twenty standard years

IMG_2629Dear Clarissa,

it’s been twenty standard years, each of them anything but that, standing next to you. Saying goodbyes while watching sunlight at the bottom of an ivory tower reaching towards the sky. A proud tower delivering me instead to something resembling hell far more than heaven.

I will be returning soon, to my fair city though perhaps not to you. I apologise. I do not know whether you honoured our promise to wait, while I left civilised life for duty and further words of grandeur – taking on an existance where the proper passing of time was cut to pieces by calendars and conflicts of life elsewhere – I fear in my heart that this promise was one made not in hope, but in unrealistic aspirations. Twenty standard years is far longer than perhaps permissible, certainly longer than realistic in terms of passing of time, growing up, creating a life and more. Definitely too long in terms of the life I had out there. A soldier’s life, it is not what it was made out to be.

Please do not misunderstand me. This is all hard to explain. Suffice to say I will not be surprised should you have moved on from feelings and thoughts from a youth far less complicated than this adult life. Not a year has gone by without you visiting my mind. Nor have they gone by without doubt and sometimes despair. I have to be honest, because I have not been sure of us for too much time. Not knowing whether I am still the person you once knew, or whether the us I remember is the same as we once were. There have been times where I gave up, there have been moments where I clung to me and you as life itself. Doubts, despair, hope. Words, though these are all I have, not knowing whether we still have no need for them.

This letter will find you, of that I am sure. I also know that it will find you before my other dispatches, written throughout those years each unsent because of the formal divides between civil and military life. I hope you will read this message, but also the others preceding it for so long. If not to introduce myself again to you, then to understand the difference between that person and the one I am today. I offer my apologies to you, perhaps for shattering dreams, perhaps for disturbing a reality, in any case for the consequences of a decision I should not have made.

I have attached my itinerary along with a picture taken at my latest station. Yes, vows and oaths of family, I know. But I ask nothing, I will accept your decision, whichever it may be. When I arrive I will take the time to wait and see.

In memory of mind and more,

Takan D’Aure

sbrb-body-hdr-SPOTLIGHT

Are you a creative soul with a focus is on the genres of Science FictionFantasyAction & Adventure and Mystery & Thrillers, including their respective sub categories (Steampunk, Survival, Horror)?

Would you like a Spotlight? Feel free to read all about it and get in touch right here.

Mack Meijers Reads & Writes

Mack Meijers reads and writes Science Fiction, feel free to get in touch to suggest stories, books and tales to him. If you’d like to show a sign of support, by all means give a “like” on his Facebook Page and hook up! He won’t mind visiting his Wish List or buying a story either.
Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2013 by in Muse, Musings, Write and tagged , , .
Reverie Radio

Conversations With Artists Of All Varieties

SnowbizNow!

The SnowbizNow Entertainment Network. "Connecting The Circuitry of Humanity."

Jane Lindskold: Wednesday Wanderings

Weekly posts about whatever has caught my fancy, especially the odd stuff I see as I go about my day.

Sarah Michelle Lynch

Author and Editor

Andy McKell

A guy who writes - and more

jnaomiay

Author of The Two Moons of Rehnor series

The Last Praetorian

Can you ever find redemption for the mistakes of your past?

disregard the prologue

Life, writing, books, dragons- not necessarily in that order. Home of best-selling Fantasy author Kate Sparkes.

Cyd Madsen

What The Dogs Say

Write Brain Trust

Writers Helping Writers: Creativity, Publishing & Marketing

No Wasted Ink

Author Interviews * Book Reviews * Essays * Writer's Links * Scifaiku

Gnostalgia

The life and times of a graying book nerd

McCollonough Ceili

Irish/American Author

