Desert of Man

Writing. Culture. Politics. Wandering.

Letters – Please don’t panick

Mum, dad,

please don’t panick. We’ve had our differences, but I know you love me. I hope you know I love you too. But as you read this, know that I have left. These past few months we’ve had plenty fights over my decision, but it really is my decision. I understand your concerns, and I do share them. But I know that I have to do this. I realise it sounds almost stupid, but it is my life. I am grateful that you gave it to me, but it is up to me to make something out of it. My way.

I thought it would be better this way, I did not want to leave with doors slamming and shouting back and forth. I realise this is not the best way either, but considering our differences that is not possible anyhow. So at least we each have our space now, and we can both cry a little without things escalating.

I really will miss you both. I also hope that I will be able to come back, to visit at least. That will be some time either way, because basic training will be a full 10 standard months.

So yes, I received my application acceptance letter today. And I am going through with it. By the time you read this I will be off-world. A few weeks from now I will be standing in front of the Tribune taking my first oath. It is something I have to do, it is inside me, it’s not some talk on the news or some teacher manipulating my brain. I know that I am a soldier, or rather, that I will become one.

What will become of me after that, I do not know yet. Yes dad, there is a life after. And yes, you can rest assured that I am not going to settle for the mud. I know my talents, I know my limitations, I know what I want. That is not arrogance, it’s just me.

Maybe one day you will be proud of me, not as a son, but also for making my decisions. And should I not return, do not hate each other or me, try to find it in yourselves together to accept my decisions for my life.

I love you both,

Kres

P.S. Yes mum, I have a towel with me …

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2013 by in Muse, Write and tagged , , , , .

Burning Memory

Duty, family, choices. Consequences above all.

A Science Fiction Story

Twitter Updates

Thin Blue Line

The edge between life and death of a world.

A Science Fiction Story

Reverie Radio

Conversations With Artists Of All Varieties

SnowbizNow!

The SnowbizNow Entertainment Network. "Connecting The Circuitry of Humanity."

Jane Lindskold: Wednesday Wanderings

Weekly posts about whatever has caught my fancy, especially the odd stuff I see as I go about my day.

Sarah Michelle Lynch

Author and Editor

Andy McKell

A guy who writes - and more

jnaomiay

Author of The Two Moons of Rehnor series

The Last Praetorian

Can you ever find redemption for the mistakes of your past?

disregard the prologue

Life, writing, books, dragons- not necessarily in that order. Home of best-selling Fantasy author Kate Sparkes.

Cyd Madsen

What The Dogs Say

Write Brain Trust

Writers Helping Writers: Creativity, Publishing & Marketing

No Wasted Ink

Author Interviews * Book Reviews * Essays * Writer's Links * Scifaiku

Gnostalgia

The life and times of a graying book nerd

McCollonough Ceili

Irish/American Author

