Desert of Man

Writing. Culture. Politics. Wandering.

Coasting – Cover Design

I’m no expert in the use of Adobe Fireworks or Photoshop, and I must admit the laptop accompanying me on my current trip to be a rather extremely old one – but I thought I’d give it a try. Particularly after a recent blog post by Greta van der Rol on the topic.

On the side, I’m leaning towards changing the story’s working title from Coasting Quietly to just Coasting. Somehow it strikes me as not just simpler, but perhaps slightly more elegant. It may seem strange, and it does go against the more popular marketing instruments, but right now I feel that the cover should give an impression of setting, but less one of “so that’s the gist of it”.

Either way, I’ve come up with a basic idea for the cover, working out three options that have so far survived the recycling bin. Variations on a theme, but who knows. So, let’s have a look. The images displayed open the full version in a new window. Right now, I’m slightly leaning to version C. By all means, let me know what you think!

Coasting, Version A

Coasting, Version A

Coasting, Version B

Coasting, Version B

Coasting, Version C

Coasting, Version C

7 comments on “Coasting – Cover Design

  1. theparasiteguy
    June 20, 2013

    Honestly, I’m torn between B and C. I prefer the title placement of C, but I also prefer the font for your name used in B and A. I also think that all three covers have a little too much text at the moment; is the name of this series Transcripts From The Void / Recordings Of A Castaway or is it Alone / Of Suns And Spheres?

    Best of luck with this story 🙂

    • Mack
      June 20, 2013

      Thank you for taking the time to comment 🙂

      I agree there is too much text at the moment, I guess that’s because I’m still struggling a bit to find a usable tagline – hence the redundancy in text. It can indeed confuse, I’ll need to give that some more thought.

      I named the fictional universe “Of Suns And Spheres”, which is also the working title of the main book. Another point to consider.

  2. captainpodman
    June 20, 2013

    I think that version A is the better of the 3. You need to nail the naming of the book or you can spend hours, even days pushing words around the page. I had a similar issue with my books. Good luck with it.

    • Mack
      June 20, 2013

      Thanks for your comment, and yeah, that is a bit of a struggle at the moment indeed.

      Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Burning Memory – Cover Design | Desert of Man

  4. Greta van der Rol
    June 21, 2013

    I like ‘transcript from the void’ because it gives a better idea of genre (I think). ‘Of suns and spheres’ rather disappears in the cover and would be illegible in a thumbnail. Design wise I like A. It’s fun, isn’t it? But do remember, you can’t please all of the people with a cover any more than you can with a story. In the end, go with what you feel gets your message across

    • Mack
      June 21, 2013

      Eheh, fun indeed 😛 Fair point though, it’s not a case where form must trump function, or style over content.

      Thanks!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2013 by in Muse, Write and tagged , , , , , , .

Burning Memory

Duty, family, choices. Consequences above all.

A Science Fiction Story

Twitter Updates

Thin Blue Line

The edge between life and death of a world.

A Science Fiction Story

Reverie Radio

Conversations With Artists Of All Varieties

SnowbizNow!

The SnowbizNow Entertainment Network. "Connecting The Circuitry of Humanity."

Jane Lindskold: Wednesday Wanderings

Weekly posts about whatever has caught my fancy, especially the odd stuff I see as I go about my day.

Sarah Michelle Lynch

Author and Editor

Andy McKell

A guy who writes - and more

jnaomiay

Author of The Two Moons of Rehnor series

The Last Praetorian

Can you ever find redemption for the mistakes of your past?

disregard the prologue

Life, writing, books, dragons- not necessarily in that order. Home of best-selling Fantasy author Kate Sparkes.

Cyd Madsen

What The Dogs Say

Write Brain Trust

Writers Helping Writers: Creativity, Publishing & Marketing

No Wasted Ink

Author Interviews * Book Reviews * Essays * Writer's Links * Scifaiku

Gnostalgia

The life and times of a graying book nerd

McCollonough Ceili

Irish/American Author

