Desert of Man

Writing. Culture. Politics. Wandering.

Burning Memory – Cover Design

I’m giving the experiment for the cover of Coasting a brief rest, after – as often happens – a moment of creative drive on another short story. After considering the feedback on Twitter and via Blog Comments on the cover experiments for Coasting I came across the cover release for the upcoming Revelations book by Lee Fulford. It made me think. So when Photoshop started up, taking the equivalent of a walk to the water cooler, I started to experiment further.

Burning Memory is a short science fiction story drafted from a transcript of a soldier’s private logs. Witness to horrible events – where he was more than a mere cog in the machine – he finds a way of coming to terms with them. Or at least he makes a decision. The events taking place are part of the fictional universe Of Suns and Spheres.

I wanted to keep the title as clear as possible. Obviously my name is supposed to be on it, and I wanted to make clear that it is a short story. I did not want to create distractions with background art, or throw a lot of typical visual triggers around. I know, marketing, but still.

Oh, and in case anyone asks why an entry like this features the tag Towel, well, I can’t help it but that book has left a mark on all my protagonists. Like me, they’re fans of it.

So, here are the fruits of my laptop running out of memory, pun intended. What do you think?

Memory Book Cover

Memory Book Cover

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2013 by in Muse, Write and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Burning Memory

Duty, family, choices. Consequences above all.

A Science Fiction Story

Twitter Updates

Thin Blue Line

The edge between life and death of a world.

A Science Fiction Story

Reverie Radio

Conversations With Artists Of All Varieties

SnowbizNow!

The SnowbizNow Entertainment Network. "Connecting The Circuitry of Humanity."

Jane Lindskold: Wednesday Wanderings

Weekly posts about whatever has caught my fancy, especially the odd stuff I see as I go about my day.

Sarah Michelle Lynch

Author and Editor

Andy McKell

A guy who writes - and more

jnaomiay

Author of The Two Moons of Rehnor series

The Last Praetorian

Can you ever find redemption for the mistakes of your past?

disregard the prologue

Life, writing, books, dragons- not necessarily in that order. Home of best-selling Fantasy author Kate Sparkes.

Cyd Madsen

What The Dogs Say

Write Brain Trust

Writers Helping Writers: Creativity, Publishing & Marketing

No Wasted Ink

Author Interviews * Book Reviews * Essays * Writer's Links * Scifaiku

Gnostalgia

The life and times of a graying book nerd

McCollonough Ceili

Irish/American Author

