Desert of Man

Writing. Culture. Politics. Wandering.

Movie Review – Europa Report

Presented with an opportunity to watch Europa Report (IMDB) it was rather hard to say no. And in these days where we prefer the milking dry of reboot concepts and the degradation of constructive mythology (Avengers, the recent two Star Trek reboots) I immediately said “yes”. Why? Because while I can and do enjoy movies like the before mentioned, I do so for simple fun. But when I get up from my seat, that is where it ends.

And well, I am glad I said “yes” to Europa Report.

I prefer to find nuggets of creativity that challenge me, that make me imagine after the show is over. Art that stimulates me to discuss with people for more than just the scope of the entertainment. Don’t get me wrong, there are many such productions these days. Where it comes to the genre of science fiction though it is a bit more rare to find.

Europa Report is something that picks up on many things. privatisation of space, modern symbology, cultural segregation, the use of technology as an instrument. And the use of people as another instrument. Because well, let’s face it, we may not like it but that is what we are in our modern time: resources. At the centre of the film is a simple mission, go to Jupiter, proceed to Europa, look for life other than yourself.

No spoilers, so I will keep those to myself. Suffice to say that while there are aspects of this movie that will not find that easily a connection with todays generic audiences it is absolutely a film to watch. If you have an interest in space, in science, and in fiction surrounding the two, go for it.

Take the movie as it takes you on. This is not Hollywood, this is indie. It shows, but less than one would expect. But it sets the stage, plays the theme, and it makes connections which Hollywood doesn’t bother anymore to make. I share concerns on editing, budget is a factor. But I also agree that for a movie that does not follow the easy road of reboots and repeats it is really a must-see.

Fun, interesting. A rare combination. The only thing I missed, was someone showing up with a towel. But that is my private little thing, that guide has left its mark on me …

– Mack

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2013 by in Muse, Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Reverie Radio

Conversations With Artists Of All Varieties

SnowbizNow!

The SnowbizNow Entertainment Network. "Connecting The Circuitry of Humanity."

Jane Lindskold: Wednesday Wanderings

Weekly posts about whatever has caught my fancy, especially the odd stuff I see as I go about my day.

Sarah Michelle Lynch

Author and Editor

Andy McKell

A guy who writes - and more

jnaomiay

Author of The Two Moons of Rehnor series

The Last Praetorian

Can you ever find redemption for the mistakes of your past?

disregard the prologue

Life, writing, books, dragons- not necessarily in that order. Home of best-selling Fantasy author Kate Sparkes.

Cyd Madsen

What The Dogs Say

Write Brain Trust

Writers Helping Writers: Creativity, Publishing & Marketing

No Wasted Ink

Author Interviews * Book Reviews * Essays * Writer's Links * Scifaiku

Gnostalgia

The life and times of a graying book nerd

McCollonough Ceili

Irish/American Author

